2020 Jacaranda Acquisitive Drawing Award (JADA)

The Gallery's flagship biennial art prize graciously sponsored by the Friends of Grafton Gallery.

Todd \fuller_Ode to Clarence_no 9

Supported by The Friends of the Gallery, the JADA is Grafton Regional Gallery's flagship art prize. Established in 1988 the JADA celebrates drawing in all its splendour from hyper-realism that is beyond belief to the expressive and abstract, evoking the poetic and emotional response to the human condition and our environment. Many of the works question and challenge the notion of the traditional drawing; while others provide a contemporary perspective and reinvigorate those traditions. 

The 2020 JADA received a record 659 entries from 521 artists throughout Australia with 56 finalists  being selected for the exhibition and susequent tour.

The Gallery will launch the exhibition on Friday 2 October with special guest presenter Rove McManus, Gallery Direcor Niomi Sands and Judge, Peter McKay who  will announce the winner of the $35,000 acquisitive prize. Peter is Curatorial Manager of Australian Art at Queensland Art Gallery and Gallery of Modern Art.
https://www.eventbrite.com.au/e/2020-jada-opening-event-tickets-119385482191 to book for this free event.

The exhibition will be on view in Prentice House until 22 November 2020 between 10:00 am and 3:00 pm daily, admission is by donation.

The 2020 JADA selection panel comprised of:
Brett Addlington - Director: Lismore Regional Gallery
Heather Brown - President: Friends of the Grafton Gallery and Gallery Advisory Committee member
Michael Zavros - Artist, winner and acquired artist of past JADA exhibitions
Niomi Sands - Director: Grafton Regional Gallery
Peter Wood - CEO: Arts Northern Rivers 

Artists selected as finalists:

Katka Adams Tim Allen Kim Anderson
Oliver Ashworth-Martin Matt Baker Marjan Bakhtiarikish 
Penny Bennett Cher Breeze Darren Bryant
Jude Crawford Michael Cusack Jan Davis
Christine Druitt-Preston Mark Dustin Yvonne East
David Fairbairn Philip Faulks Matt Foley
Todd Fuller Joanna Gambotto Damian Gascoigne
Julianna Gosper Jody Graham Elizabeth Green
Alexander Hamilton Beric Henderson Dave Hickson
Debbie Hill Catherine Hockey Jim Howe
Julie Hutchings Cedar Jeffs Jennifer Keeler-Milne
Caroline Kennedy Elena Kolotusha James Iain McKellar
Noel McKenna Robert Moore Celia Morgan
Jule Nash Kellie O'Dempsey Catherine O'Donnell
William Platz Lyn Raymer Alessia Sakoff
Tim Spellman Tulli Stevens Hiromi Tango
Luke Thurgate Sarah Tomasetti Teo Treloar
Leonardo Uribe Craig Waddell Emma Walker
Christina Waterson Christine Willcocks  

Image credit: Todd Fuller Ode to Clarence series - untitled 9 (detail), 2016/17,  mixed media on paper. (winner 2018 JADA). Courtesy of the artist and MAYSPACE.

2020 JADA logo block


Related Pages

Art Prizes

Biennial acquisitive art awards.

Contact Us


158 Fitzroy Street
Grafton, NSW, 2460


Open daily from 10:00am to 4:00pm

Public Holidays may differ

All visitors must scan and register by QR code, in line with current Government Covid-19 regulations.

Keep In Touch

Grafton Regional Gallery information and news